600D stopped taking pictures

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Me109, Oct 13, 2021.

  1. Me109

    Me109 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,
    My old but very well looked after 600D (27k count) has suddenly stopped taking pictures.
    Most of the time the LCD screen is on but none of the buttons work.
    Other times I can press the menu button and I can access the sub menus.
    Sometimes it takes a pic soon as its turned on.
    I have:
    Reset all settings
    Updated the firmware
    Formatted the card
    Changed the battery
    Tried MF & AF lenses
    Pressed all the buttons at once in frustration

    Is there anything else I can try before throwing it away..? I totally understand its old and not worth the cost of been sent away.

    Thanks.
     

  2. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Do you mean you got a new battery or just sapped it with a freshly charged? The camera can act like a brick if that battery has gone bad, but you have some intermittent functionality which is confusing the symptoms. The camera will also not take a photo when it does not have a lens on, or card inserted. There are options on some bodies to disable these. A battery or card door that is not triggering the close door reading could also brick the camera. The intermittent usage is the most puzzling.
    If the battery and card are new or work in another camera I would at least call canon and see if they have some troubleshooting that they will walk you through. It is possible the main board is starting to go out but it does have low mileage. I agree your better off putting repair cost into a newer camera.
     
  3. Me109

    Me109 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2021
    Messages:
    2
     
  4. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Looks like you having trouble with quotes. reply auto quotes the whole text, you type outside of it like this.
    upload_2021-10-15_8-19-43.png


    Do you see how the first quote is blank, but when i copied a second copy of it and put my own text in it shows up as quoted?

    I can remove these posts if you try again and it works for you.
     
  5. Ellinor William

    Ellinor William New Member

    Joined:
    Monday
    Messages:
    4
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS 90DSLR
    In my experience the actual manual focusing ring would be stuck. It needed a gentle twist to unstuck it. Also, by removing the batteries it should reset everything back to the factory settings, so if there is some setting you accidentally harked up, hopefully this will fix it.
     

Share This Page