Best Lens for amateur

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Dacatster, Apr 15, 2022.

1. Dacatster

Dacatster New Member

Equipment:
    rebel eos t8i
    Hi all, I am a somewhat a newbie amateur. Been playing around for 14 years, with Rebels. I get all the different ISO and stuff mixed up. As a RN I am more comfortable resuscitating a baby then try to figure out all the special nuances of photography. So, I am here to ask for help.
    I am planning on a trip to Yosemite National park, Death Valley National park, Grand Canyon, Zion National Park and such. I have a Rebel T8I with a 75-300mm and a 18-55mm lens. I do have a tripod, but I am an impatient person just to sit around to wait for something to happen. I also have nerve damage in my right (dominate) arm from being being hit by a semi. I can't hold something heavy for a long period of time.
    Here is my question. Any suggestions for other lenses for under a $1000 you would suggest. Really looking forward to something long range or great night takes. I could go as high as $1500, but would rather keep it under a 1K. Thanks all

2. Craig Sherriff

Craig Sherriff Well-Known Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets,Mamiya 645 pro TL and 3 lenses. Pentax MG and various lenses, Toyoview 4 * 5 inch large format camera,Calimat C1 8*10 inch ultra large format camera.
    Welcome to the forum, Dacatster/ I know how you feel, I am stuck on a disability pension myself but where there is a will there is a way. The 75 - 300 my favorite lens besides the 28-104 lens. Now for your suggestion for a long lens. You seem to want a 400 to 600mm, the longer the lens the greater the cost.