Brand new R5 -Error Code 70

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by roger hunt, May 22, 2022.

1. roger hunt

roger hunt New Member

Equipment:
    Canon R5, Canon 7D MkII, 100-400mm MkII
    I decided to get the R5 as I'm primarily a wildlife photographer, especially birds in flight. I've saved for nearly a year to be able to afford it. The new camera arrived the other day and I spent a few hours familiarising myself with it and configuring the menus. During the first few test shots in the back garden, Error Code 70 happened. This occured at random about 7 times during an hour. The problem didn't arise again during the remaining 20 minutes of test shots.
    Today I was able to get out and test it in the field. I shot mainly action wildlife and birds in flight. Disappointingly Error Code 70 happened, I would say about 15% of the time in a three hour session. On one occasion I had waited for a Copmmon Tern to return with a fish in its beak to its chick. I tracked the bird and pressed the shutter just as it approached and got Error Code 70! Missed the entire sequence of shots.
    I have brand new CF Express and fast SD cards.
    From what I've researched, Error Code 70 is supposedly a relatively rare occurence, with the 'blame' being placed on either insufficently fast cards or poor connections to the lens or even potential motherboard issues. I had already updated the Firmware to 1.15.2.
    I just don't get how a brand new camera (for me) that has been available for two years now can have such problems.
    Any advice would be welcome, but at this point I can't help feel that the product will have to be returned. Unfortunately, the 14 day money back guarantee seems to only apply to new, unused. Well of course I had to use it to discover the problem!

2. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,