Camera body recommendations

Discussion in 'Canon EOS Digital SLRs' started by Sonesta Smith, Jun 30, 2019.

1. Sonesta Smith

Sonesta Smith New Member

Equipment:
    10D; 60D; 22-55mm; 50mm 1.8; 75-300mm
    I'm a natural light family/portrait photographer. Due to family issue over the past 10 years, I have not been able to run my own business. Thankfully I have been able to stay in the game, though, due to working as a second shooter in my friend's wedding business. I'm getting back into the game, updating my equipment. What would be the best camera body to get?

2. rayallen

rayallen Well-Known Member Site Supporter

If you do family/portraits then maybe a 5D IV would be a good choice. It looks like you have EF lenses that will mount onto it.

Sonesta Smith likes this.
  3. Craig Sherriff

Craig Sherriff Well-Known Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets,Mamiya 645 pro TL and 3 lenses. Pentax MG and various lenses, Toyoview 4 * 5 inch large format camera,Calimat C1 8*10 inch ultra large format camera.
    My advice is to make sure you have two cameras on hand. Camera fails do occur so a back up one will be needed.
    As for which type, this will come down to personal choice and cost. I believe the best people to get advice from are those people who are successful in the business, see what they use. I do not do weddings but as a suggestion there would be two canons. as Ray suggested the 5D mark4 or 80D, hope all goes well.

4. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    I would have a good look at the EOS R mirrorless body. A new mount and some nice new lenses.

Gary

5. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100