Canon EOS 1n custom function.

Discussion in 'Canon Film SLRs' started by Ian Rivlin, Nov 20, 2022.

  1. Ian Rivlin

    Ian Rivlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS 1n, Canon EOS 7, Canon A1, Canon AE1
    On both my EOS 1n and EOS 7, when I use either a non EF lens or an adaptor (FD to EF) both cameras lock up (or appear to lock up) when the shutter is tripped. I understand there is a custom function that allows the camera to disregard the presence of a manual lens and force it to carry on with the exposure and advance the film. I have looked in many forums but there is either no information or incorrect information.
    Does anyone know whether this problem can be solved with the CF setting or is there another work around? At present, when I use one of these lenses, there is an aperture display but the shutter just shows "00".
    Any assistance would be very gratefully received.
    Thank you
    Ian
     

  2. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets,Mamiya 645 pro TL and 3 lenses. Pentax MG and various lenses, Toyoview 4 * 5 inch large format camera,Calimat C1 8*10 inch ultra large format camera.
    Welcome to the forum.Ian. I have a canon 1Dmark3 and a 60D and have never experience this issue. when I use non EF lenses on a FD to EOS adapter I use the camera in either M or Aperture Priority. Never had any issues. May I suggest resetting your camera back to factory setting and try again, failing this then my I suggest putting your question to Johnsey as he is very knowledgeable in this area.
     
  3. Ian Rivlin

    Ian Rivlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS 1n, Canon EOS 7, Canon A1, Canon AE1
    Thanks for your speedy and courteous response. It's possible that digital Canons have a different response to manual lenses, than film Canons. I did try using "A", "M", "P" and "T" - same result. Re setting the camera back to factory - because it's a film camera, I don't think there is this option.
    This other gentleman you refer to. May I have his contact details or some way of megabucks him on the forum?
    Thank you again,
    Ian
     
  4. Ian Rivlin

    Ian Rivlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS 1n, Canon EOS 7, Canon A1, Canon AE1
     
  5. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,549
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets,Mamiya 645 pro TL and 3 lenses. Pentax MG and various lenses, Toyoview 4 * 5 inch large format camera,Calimat C1 8*10 inch ultra large format camera.
    Johnsey is the site's Moderator , go into members area, which is found at the top of this page and click on his name. then send him a message or he regulaly sees what is going on with he site. Here is another thought, is the rear element of the adapter is fauling the mirror. measure from the point where the adapter buts up ono the camera to the farther most point on the adapter , then measure from from the front of the camera to the lens where it swings up. Is there enough room for the adapter to allow the mirror to move ? Do not touch the mirror with your fingers. I also have film cameras such as a canon 1000F and a T70 that I use M42 mount lenses on with no issue. What make of lens are you putting on your camera and do you have others that work wih no issue. or simliar problems.Thought number 2 what sort of adapter are you using, I purchased a cheap Chinese one off of Ebay and I did not allow me to focus, Your adapter may be causing the issue aswell. Beg borrow or steal another one to test it with your camera/ lens combo. Lastly go onto Youtube and look at what they have on your camera / lens combination and what adapter is being used, also sent your query to Caladina, same way as you would with Johnsey, she is also very knowledgeable, she may also have some insight.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2022
  6. Ian Rivlin

    Ian Rivlin New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2022
    Messages:
    4
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS 1n, Canon EOS 7, Canon A1, Canon AE1
    I could be wrong but I get the impression that with digital cameras there is a huge interaction between every aspect of the camera and the software. Being as this is a film camera, the computing side of things is much simpler and let inter-related. There is no software updates for film cameras, as I understand but if there were, I'd be delighted to install it. Again, being as it's a film camera, there are no plugs or inputs for software updates (such as a USB or similar). There's no issue with fouling of the mirror. I've even tried without using a lens at all and just putting on the adapter - same issue....
    Thank you again for kind taking the time to try and help.
    I'll try Johnsey...

     
  7. GDN

    GDN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    1,983
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    A couple of thoughts.

    I am on my phone at the moment, but are you able to find a manual for your cameras online to give you some pointers about custom functions?

    And what happens if you cover the camera body lens connection pins with a small amount of masking tape. Does the fire? What about if you have no lens attached to the body? Does the camera fire then?

    Gary
     
  8. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Hi All,

    As Others alluded to in the DSLR era there have been specific menu options to allow old manual lens to work but disabling focus so that the camera will basically fire the shutter even though it thinks no lens is attached. This is not so much the case in the late film era. From what I understand you should be able to capture an image with an adapted lens if it reads a focus point, but it gets more difficult after that...

    Mike Butkus is a great source of old manuals for cameras, some of you guys may be familiar with him
    https://www.butkus.org/chinon/canon/canon_eos-1n_rs/canon_eos-1n_rs.htm https://www.cameramanuals.org/canon_pdf/canon_eos-1n.pdf

    Custom function 7 allows manual focus so in theory it should work, but the manual seems to indicate your lens needs to have an electronic focusing ring. Custom function 4 allows you to suspend focus when enabled.

    http://downloads.canon.com/cpr/software/camera/EOS_Elan_7_manual.pdf Doesn't even seem to have these options when you look at manual focusing it seems to only allow such custom functions.

    I saw a post on photo.net saying this:
    upload_2022-11-22_9-21-14.png
    This implies that you may be able to circumvent achieving focus to get the shutter to fire on some older cameras using servo mode, but i have no way to test this..
     
  9. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Oh, and welcome to the forums Ian!

    I saw you had also emailed me( i think that had to be you), I hadn't got a chance to respond yet, but responding via the forums here I figured was better so that this topic can be seen by others.
     

Share This Page