Canon EOS1-Ds

Discussion in 'Canon EOS Digital SLRs' started by rayallen, May 9, 2017.

1. rayallen

rayallen Well-Known Member Site Supporter

I recently was given an EOS1-Ds, Canon's first full frame DSLR.
    I downloaded the manual and set the camera up the way I wanted it to be. I set it to shoot RAW+JPG.
    When I transferred the images to my computer they were JPGs and 10-bit TIFs.
    Are these TIF files what the 1-Ds creates as RAW files. I can't find much about this on the net or in the manual.

2. Bob L

Bob L New Member Site Supporter

Hi Ray,

They're actually not TIFF files but Canon used the extension .TIF for their first offering. You can rename the files as .CRW and then most software will understand what it's being presented with.

Bob

3. rayallen

Hi Bob,

Thank you so much for your reply. That does explain it but it was not what I was expecting to hear. The value of forums is not to be underestimated.

I have 40+ years of Pentax experience behind me but I am still at the bottom of the learning curve with Canon-specific stuff. So, you can expect more questions. Thanks again.

4. Bob L

You're welcome, Ray, and I apear to be the inverse of yourself. All my experience (and most of my equipment) is Canon based but I also have a P645Z and lenses to play with.

Bob

5. rayallen

Ooooh, a P645Z! Now I am jealous. MF digital cameras are a bit outside my budget. My only MF camera is an old Yashica 635 which I no longer use since moving into the world of digital.

6. rayallen

Hi again Bob,

I renamed the .TIF files to .CRW (in another folder) and they processed just fine in PSCC. But I have found that the renaming is not necessary as the original .TIF files are recognised by PSCC as RAW files and can be processed like any other RAW file i.e. you can change WB.
    Makes it easier if I don't have to rename.

7. Bob L