canon imageclass mf642cdw driver

Discussion in 'Post Processing, Printing, and Scanning' started by Jon Jacobs, Apr 18, 2022.

1. Jon Jacobs

Jon Jacobs New Member

Equipment:
    color imageclass mf642cdw printer
    just bought a canon imageclass mf642cdw printer.
    I successfully installed the drivers on my personal computer and connect via wi fi, successfully printing several documents (word and power point). When I print a pdf, the print just goes nowhere, but that's not my current issue. I'll ask about that later.

Here's my problem:
    My work computer does not have a dvd drive. I downloaded the putative drivers. MF642CMFDriverV6404WP.exe
    I AM an administrator on this computer. I select "run as administrator." It prompts me for type of connection and gives only two choices: USB or network. (I want Wi Fi). I select network as the closest match. It tells me: "You do not have sufficient privileges to install the program. Log on again with administrator privileges." I DID logon with such privileges and selected "run as administrator." I have never encountered such an error on any other software I have installed. Please help. Is there a different driver for installing for wi fi? BTW, the printer was ON.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Welcome to the forum Jon,
    Not sure why you would get an error if you are the admin, i know with come of the printers i have owned i had to start with a hard connection and then connect it to wifi after install. I would not expect this if you already have the printer showing online via wifi.