Canon Webcam Utility issues

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Chris Mitchell, Nov 20, 2020.

1. Chris Mitchell

Chris Mitchell New Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS1500D 18-55mm lens
    Hi all, new here and new to DSLR cameras. Hoping someone might be able to help - and sorry if this is not the right spot to post this.

Bought an EOS1500D to use for live streaming for work (on advice). I'm a teacher and we wanted to live stream concerts as parents aren't currently allowed on site due to COVID restrictions in my area.

However, I've found the camera can't do a completely clean HDMI output.

I therefore thought I'd try the Eos Webcam Utility (which should work with this model according to the Canon website). I'm using Windows 10 Enterprise on my work Acer laptop. I installed the software, but cannot it get it to work. The option for 'EOS Webcam Utility' will show up in Cisco WebEx but cannot connect to the camera. EOS Webcam Utility will not even show up as an option in OBS. I can use my built in webcam in both programs without a problem.

I've done quite a bit of research and tried all the troubleshooting suggestions I've come across - for example, uninstalling and reinstalling the software, making sure the regular EOS Utility is closed and not in the system tray, checking the camera does work with the regular EOS utility (it does, including the remote shooting mode).

I then tried it on my personal Mac (a 2012 model) - installed the webcam utility, and works it flawlessly on multiple software programs including OBS. I can therefore rule out a problem with the cable or the camera.

While as a last resort I can take my Mac to work for the things I need to do, I'd prefer to get it working on my work computer if I can. Any further suggestions would be appreciated.

Kind regards,

Chris.

2. MikeM

MikeM Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T6
    EF-S 18-55mm
    EF 75-300mm
    EF 50mm
    EF 10-18mm