Disc is full....but it isn't

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by jimdavis, Sep 29, 2020.

1. jimdavis

jimdavis New Member

Equipment:
    Canon SX520 HS
    I have a Canon SX520 HS that's worked great for several years. All of a sudden I get a message that the disc is full. But it isn't. I even put several different discs in, all with plenty of empty space but always get the disc is full message. Which means I can't use the camera.

2. MikeM

MikeM Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T6
    EF-S 18-55mm
    EF 75-300mm
    EF 50mm
    EF 10-18mm
    What size SD card are you using? It maybe that that camera is limited to using a 32gig SD card, and that is why you are getting that error.

3. jimdavis

jimdavis New Member

Equipment:
    Canon SX520 HS
    It's an 8 gig card I have been using for the past several years. Worked one day and didn't the next. Also tried a 1 gig card and a 16 megabyte card. Get the same "card is full" message on all of them. So it's not the card, it's the camera.

4. MikeM

MikeM Member

Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T6
    EF-S 18-55mm
    EF 75-300mm
    EF 50mm
    EF 10-18mm
    Before ruling out the cards, I would put a new one in. Memory cards can and will go bad the older they get, especially if they have had a lot of writes.

5. jimdavis

jimdavis New Member

Equipment:
    Canon SX520 HS
    Yeah, I had decided to try that. All of the cards I have are fairly old but I find it a bit strange that all three of them would go bad. But it's worth a try.

6. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Are you saying the memory card is full is the issue reported by the camera? Is the card read only lock on?
    Did something else in your process change?