DPP4 Pro starts but exits as soon as I click on a photo I want to edit

Discussion in 'Post Processing, Printing, and Scanning' started by boblite49, Jan 29, 2021.

1. boblite49

boblite49 New Member

Equipment:
    Canon 7D Mark 2
    EF 70-300L
    Canon 80D
    The title explains the problem.
    I have no problem opening DPP4 Pro - it starts okay.
    But as soon as I open a folder and click on a photo, the app terminates without saying anything.

Will greatly appreciate info on any fixes.

2. rayallen

rayallen Well-Known Member Site Supporter

I did not have DPP4 installed so I downloaded it and installed it on my laptop. I started it and opened a RAW file produced by my EOS-1Ds. No problem opening the RAW file but I found the program to be very non-intuitive and not easy to use. I recall trying it about 3 years ago and I was unimpressed with it then and my feelings have not changed.
    I have been using Photoshop for many years and I also use Lightroom Classic and ACDSee Photo Studio Ultimate and all of these programs are intuitive to use.
    DPP works OK but I am not prepared to spend the time needed to get the best out of it. From memory when I used it previously I found that it was very basic and that is about all you can expect for a free program. Others might disagree.

If you want a capable free image editor then I suggest looking at GIMP https://www.gimp.org/
    It is supposed to be like Photoshop but it has a learning curve which I don't need or intend to climb.

As for DPP, I don't think it is worth the effort. But it happily opened a RAW file from an 18 year old Canon.
    I was using an ASUS laptop which I purchased last year with an i5 Intel processor and 16GB of RAM.

3. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    Have you checked for updates and installed the latest version? 4.13.10

Gary

4. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment: