Dummy battery isn't working with external battery?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Astrofiend, Apr 2, 2021.

1. Astrofiend

Astrofiend New Member

Hello, I have purchased a used Canon t3i for astrophotography, I'm new to dslr's so learning about it all has been fascinating. I wanted to increase battery life while taking hours of images so I ordered this dummy battery with a USB end that steps up the voltage....

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B078ZVWHWY?psc=1

Someone posted a review on the Amazon page saying they use this dummy battery with this power bank...

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/aw/d/B00R97DNHE?psc=1

The specs seem to suggest that it would work fine. 5v -- 2.1a output. The camera turns on but when I take a picture it shuts off and won't turn back on until I put in the stock battery again.

I would appreciate any help or suggestions of other external batteries to use! Thank you

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2021

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Honestly the circuitry on these 3rd party accessories is suspect at best. Many people have had problems with just 3rd part batteries not registering with their cameras, most of us do not both buying anything but canon brand batteries, I imagine the dummy battery is the issue.

3. Astrofiend

Astrofiend New Member

What other way is there to extend battery life? When mounted to my Star Adventurer I'd have to take the camera off to swap batteries, which would lose the framing that took quite a bit of time to setup!

4. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100