EOS R - Good for a first ever camera?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by TKhan10, Oct 28, 2020.

1. TKhan10

TKhan10 New Member

Hi guys, I'm new to this forum because I wanted to do some research before purchasing my very first camera, DSLR/Mirrorless or otherwise.

I have been eyeing the Canon EOS R for a good 6 months now, watching videos, reading reviews etc.

I am looking to make purchase of the EOS R with the mindset that even though it's slightly high maintenance compared to the older 80d or 90d type models... with time, commitment and practice, I would learn all I need to know after some months and not have to feel like an upgrade is needed... i guess the question is, am i correct to be doing this or should I be going with an older, more entry level gear?

Thank you in advance and I'm looking forward to learning more from you all.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I would look at it the other way, how much are you able to budget and how much control of shooting to you hope to see yourself getting into in the longer term. If you can afford to jump up to a 90d or a EOS R then by all means do so if you are looking for more control over the camera.