IP8720 Advice Desired

Discussion in 'Post Processing, Printing, and Scanning' started by 45bpcr, Jun 28, 2022.

1. 45bpcr

45bpcr New Member

Equipment:
    Canon IP8720
    Nikon D7200 X 2
    Various lenses
    Hello Folks,
    I just joined in order to hopefully get some advice.
    I didn't know of any other place to ask this question.

I need to replace my 15 month old IP8720.
    I needed to do a few 13x19 prints a couple of weeks ago.
    When I hit print, the unit made a loud, plastic gear striping noise and the print cartridge carrier locked up in the far right position.
    There were a couple of broken small white plastic pieces in the paper tray and a myriad of trouble codes.

As a retired Mercedes mechanic, I'm thinking it's terminal.

I spoke with Canon tech support who thought it wouldn't be worth sending in for service
    As it's out of warranty the only thing Canon is willing to do is sell me a new one sans shipping for $289.00

Before I bought this printer I spent quite a bit of time reading about it and it generally had very good reviews for an entry level 13X19 printer..
    Did I just get a "lemon"?
    I understand that Lemons happen sometimes, I've seen it time and time again during my 42 years in the automotive industry.
    Should I replace it with another 8720 or upgrade?
    I was very happy with the printer but hesitate to buy another and have it fail after another 15 months.
    I'm not a professional photographer and I print less than 20 photos / text sheets per month.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

C Duncan

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Looks like that is the same price you can get it for around the web and in store.