Meaningful difference between APS-C and Super 35mm sensor?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Charlie Richards, Jan 16, 2021.

1. Charlie Richards

Charlie Richards New Member

I own a Canon EOS 70D (APS-C Sensor) and up till now it’s literally the only camera I’ve ever shot with, so I have very little knowledge or experience when it comes to any other formats, and I’m in the early stages of prepping for a film shoot that’ll be using a Canon EOS Mark II (Super 35 Sensor). The info I see online seems to imply that these two different sensors, while not IDENTICAL, are still pretty darn close, but everything I find on the subject just quickly glosses over this and doesn’t give much more detailed info, so I’m a little unsure and want to be 100% positive about the issue. I have the opportunity to access several locations beforehand with the camera I own (the 70D) and a 18-135mm zoom lens, so I’m hoping to be able to plan out much of the framing and camera movement, and to figure out exactly what primes I need to rent for the shoot. Is there gonna be any meaningful difference that I need to take into account between what I see through my 70D and what I’ll see on set when I look through the C300 Mark II for the first time, or am I more or less safe with this plan of action?

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Can't speak for the personal use of the C300 as video is not my thing, but it sounds like a reasonable plan of attack, the difference should be slight, meaning if you were to do the reverse and mount a 50mm ef-s lens on the c300 you would get slight vignetting.

3. Gregory Lee

Gregory Lee Member

Equipment:
    Canon 80D
    Canon M50
    Canon M100
    A bunch of lenses and other stuff