My 50D won't recognize my memory card

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Michael T Hall, Apr 6, 2019.

  1. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    When I got a new Compact Flash Card (Sandisk Extreme pro UDMA6) I formatted it using my Laptop (Win 10). I did both a quick format and a longer format. My camera keeps saying the card isn't formatted. When I try to format using the camera itself it says this card can't be formatted. I'm ready to start losing what little hair I have left over this. This is the final hurdle I have to clear before I can finally start taking pics with this camera.

    Please help me if you can. Don't know what to do next.

    Thanks very much.
     

  2. Ray-UK

    Ray-UK Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Rochester, UK
    Equipment:
    Canon 7D Mk II, Canon 10-22, Canon 24-105 L Mk 1, Canon 24mm 2.8, Canon 55-250 STM, Canon 100mm usm macro, 3x Metz 58 AF1 & too many film cameras, mainly Pentax
    Might be worth looking into the cameras card slot to make sure there are no bent or damaged pins in there, otherwise it could be a fault within the camera or even a faulty card. Bear in mind that if you bought the card online then there is a good chance that it is cheapie card thats been relabeled.
     
    Michael T Hall likes this.
  3. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    When you formatted on your computer did you keep the card FAT 32? depending on the file system type you may have formatted it to something the camera can't recognize.
     
    Michael T Hall likes this.
  4. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    To be honest I'm not sure if I kept it FAT32. Every time I put it into the camera to format it using the camera itself it says can not format card, change card I got it on eBay but on the card it says SanDisk Extreme Pro Compact Flash 90 megabits per second UDMA6
     
  5. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I wouldn't be worried about the name and speed, that only would com into issue if you were doing video or rapid fire burst mode. I use cards that are a decade old and likely slower than yours. but if you format outside of camera you could have changed the file system. I'm pretty sure canon uses FAT32, id have to investigate to verify.
     
  6. GDN

    GDN Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    Hi Mike,

    I don't know what you know about CF cards, but there are a couple of things that you should watch out for when using them. They are meant to go only one way into the camera or card reader. They have a narrow slot on one edge, and a wider slot on the other edge. But without trying too hard, you can push them in the wrong way around. If you do this, you can bend the pins in the camera or card reader. As what has been suggested so far, I check the inside of the camera to make sure that there are no bent pins. If they are undamaged, I would also try another CF card if possible but I wouldn't try formatting it in with your PC, I would let the camera do it.

    Gary
     
    Michael T Hall likes this.
  7. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    Thank you very much. Great advice.
     
  8. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    I always format my CF cards in the camera. I have just checked one and can confirm that the format is FAT32.
     
  9. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    Thank you. I think mine is 32 but formatted in the laptop first. Some concerns about the mbs being faster than the 50D can handle?
     
  10. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    The 32 in FAT32 relates to the type of file format not the size of the card. That sounds like 32GB in your case. If the speed of the card is faster than your camera can write, that is not an issue. If the speed of the card is slower than your camera can write then you will just have to wait a little longer for the file to be written.
    I have an old 1Ds and it writes very slowly. I have a medium speed card and I save RAW and JPEG and the red light is on for what seems like ages. So, I just wait! :):)
     
  11. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    If I formatted the card as FAT32 in the computer would that be why the camera says it can't format the card and to change the card?
     
  12. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    In theory, no, it should not matter. There is plenty of advice on the net telling you how to format on the computer. I might have done that sometime in the past but I don't do it now.
    Here is an interesting web page that I just found: http://tbexcon.com/us/2012/10/24/memory-card-best-practices-15-things-you-should-already-be-doing/

    Re the card that is giving you the problem:
    1. Are you using Windows? Windows 10?
    2. Are you able to read the card on the computer via a card reader? If you can then the card should be OK.
    3. What does it say when you right click on the device in File Explorer and then click on Properties?
    4. Mine says Type = USB Drive, File System = FAT32.
    This article is for SD cards but it is just as applicable to CF cards: https://www.apotelyt.com/photo-memory/sd-card-formatting

    I hope that helps.

    If you are using a MAC then maybe someone else can help you. :(
     
  13. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    Great information. I am using Win 10. I will check on this tomorrow. Thanks very much.
     
  14. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    I'm not sure to be honest. When I get home I will try again and this time I will check to be sure.
     
  15. strongsnail

    strongsnail New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2019
    Messages:
    1
    Did you format it to FAT32 or other file systems? There might be a chance that your camera cannot recognize the current file system of the SD card. If you have formatted it to FAT32 successfully via using computer, you can check whether there are some bad sectors on the SD card by running CHKDSK.exe tool in command prompt. To do so, press Win+X, select Command Prompt (Admini) > type chkdsk <drive letter of your SD card> :/f. Or you can totally wipe the SD card using a SD card eraser tool and format it again to check if it can be recognized by your camera afterwards.
     
  16. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    246
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Reformatting the CF card should fix the issue if there isn't bent pins or some physical flaw, it sounds like its too new to think the car just crapped out. But to be honest that can happen too. That aside, you should probably work towards having a few cards available. Two working ones would be minimum, you don't want a failure point to be something as simple as you don't have a new memory card in the field if your experiencing issues or it is full, its also especially handy to just switch cards while traveling.
     
  17. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    Thanks very much for everyone's thoughts on this. When I get home I will check and try again
     
  18. ChipB

    ChipB Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Central Texas
    Equipment:
    Canon 80D, T5i, 100-400 L, 24-105 L, 75-300 IS, 50 Macro
    Michael, I read somewhere that the 50D originally could only support CF cards of 8GB or less - newer firmware versions updated the CF card size to al least 32GB. Current firmware for the 50D is 1.0.9 and I believe that the increase in CF size is in FW 1.0.6 and above. I suggest you check your FW level and upgrade if necessary.
     
  19. Michael T Hall

    Michael T Hall New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2019
    Messages:
    21
    Equipment:
    Nothing at the moment but want to get started in the DSLR world. Used to have a Nikon F series back in the day of film cameras.
    Thanks Chip. I will check to see. I think one of my USB cables will allow it to connect via my laptop to download a FW update.
     
  20. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    544
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    Michael,
    You don't do a firmware update via a USB cable. It must be done from a CF card. You need to read your manual and look at this video: https://www.google.com.au/search?so...9i30.SMhWWxC9gSY#btnK=Google Search&kpvalbx=1

    I have not been able to verify what ChipB said above but he may be correct. If your firmware version does not support 32GB cards then that would explain your situation. I suggest that you buy a new 8GB CF card and use that for the firmware update. You might even be able to start shooting with the 8GB card.

    Good luck.
     

Share This Page