Options for closer macro w/ EOS 7D Mk.II

Discussion in 'Canon Lens Discussion' started by Silversea, Sep 20, 2022.

1. Silversea

Silversea New Member

Howdy,

I've been a wildlife photographer for many years, and I'm looking for options regarding going deeper with macro. I've been carrying the 60mm f2.8 for as long as I can remember for the 7D MII, and it's a great lens, which I use for a lot of plant and insect photography. The issue is once the subject drops below 10mm, the photos suffer.

In short, I'm not super camera smart but I'm hoping to explore possibilities for solving this issue. My natural inclination would be a different lens, extension tubes, or whatnot. I've looked into the 100mm lenses but I can't find examples that they really excel at these tiny details any more than the 60mm does. Extension tubes seem like they'd work but I can't work out if they still allow autofocus or if they hit the quality so hard it doesn't matter.

Here are 2 particular examples, both are minute springtails. The first is on the larger end of these organisms, and the photo is actually not too bad, but still low res once I end up cropping the image 95% from the original. The second is just so tiny I can't manage much of anything, and that's where the issue is very very prominent.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    I think that one of the better ways to take the next step in macro photography is to get yourself a set of extension tubes. Cheap enough used. Easy to use. They allow closer focusing, but they loose a little light. There are no glass elements in them, and they maintain auto focus, and aperture control. What's not like.

Gary

3. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    Here is an example of what I mean.

IMG_4166.jpg