Pentax flashguns on Canon cameras?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Barry Pearson, Oct 31, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Barry Pearson

Barry Pearson New Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    RF equipment. Current: R5; R; 15-35mm f/2.8; 24-70mm f/2.8; 70-200mm f/2.8; 24-240mm f/4-f/6.3; 35mm f/1.8. Pre-ordered: 85mm f/2; 100-500mm f/4.5-f/7.1.
    (I'm not a beginner to photography, but I'm certainly a beginner to Canon!)
    If I put one of my (fairly modern) Pentax flashguns on my R or R5, will it damage the camera?
    I don't normally use on-camera flash, but it may be useful occasionally, at least in manual mode.
    I've read somewhat-dated statements, outside this forum, that it is unwise, in case the voltage of the Pentax flashguns is too high. But I can't find what these voltages are.
    The Pentax flashguns concerned are: AF201FG (the little one); AF540FGZ II (the big one); AF160FC (macro ring flash).
    (I assume that using a Calumet ProSeries 4-channel transmitter on the camera is safe?)

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I don't think its a good idea, each brand has connections in the hot shoe and i believe they run different voltages, so you are safest staying wih something intended for you camera brand. Your triggers should be made for what every brand you are using, I assume you have canon mount triggers? You can get optical slaves however and trigger them remotely. So picking up some old optical slaves like a Nikon sb600 / sb800 can be put in a cold shoe an triggered by another flash regardless of brand.

3. Barry Pearson

Barry Pearson New Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    RF equipment. Current: R5; R; 15-35mm f/2.8; 24-70mm f/2.8; 70-200mm f/2.8; 24-240mm f/4-f/6.3; 35mm f/1.8. Pre-ordered: 85mm f/2; 100-500mm f/4.5-f/7.1.
    Thanks!