Photo resizing

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by porkphoto, Feb 24, 2018.

  1. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    Can photos be resized once they have been uploaded to a thread?
     

  2. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    Hmmm...I guess not.
     
  3. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    I assume not. That's why I link to the image on Flickr.
     
  4. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    You can use the code editor to change the display size of image in a post.
     
  5. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    Thanks for that info, the reason I ask is that one of my posts is too large and to see the entire pic one has to scroll. I would like to correct that to make it easier for the visitor to see.
     
  6. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Yup just find the post and click edit, use the code editor button on far right and scale down the dimensions of the linked image.
     
  7. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    I tried that and its not as easy as that. It got deleted and I uploaded it again as a thumbnail.Certain things on this site are not user friendly as there is nowhere to go for instructions.
     
  8. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Ok, it looks like the gallery code for the forum doesn't allow image size tags. You should be able to insert your own image tag code with sizing. I'll do some testing.
     
  9. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    Thanks for your help, I know it must be frustrating for moderators sometimes, I appreciate all your help.
     
  10. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Ok so I did some digging and BB Code doesn't do image size editing in posts by default. I did find a reasonable method for you to use.
    Flickr when uploaded to creates multiple sizes automatically. You can click share link, and select BBCode and get a drop down of a handful of options. Then paste the one you want into the post editor box. See my example below.

    upload_2018-3-9_18-5-55.png

    [​IMG]teddy20 by Matt J, on Flickr

    [​IMG]teddy20 by Matt J, on Flickr
     
  11. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    201
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    Ok, I'll try that next time. thanks for all that.
     

Share This Page