Pros and Cons of using vintage lenses on 1300D

Discussion in 'Canon Lens Discussion' started by tallguyowc, Nov 9, 2020.

1. tallguyowc

tallguyowc New Member

Equipment:
    Canon 1300D with 18-55mm Kit lens
    50MM 1.8
    Looking to buy vintage lenses
    Hi, tallguyowc here, I'm kind of new to all this.
    I have a 1300D (aka Rebel T6) which I have had for a number of years, and has served me well. Hoping to get another few years use out of it to see me out of my student days, before I entend to upgrade to a full frame camera.

I class myself as an amateur photographer and by no means a pro. I think using vintage lenses will help me improve my knowledge and understanding of how to composition a photo properly... rather tham relying on the camera to work it out for me.

I’m not looking for the ‘perfect lens’, it’s mostly ‘for the fun of it’. Obvisiously going to more budget friendly because of the lack of autofocus, pefect for an enthusiast like myslef. Ideally I would like a wide angle prime and a long range telephoto. Is anyone familar with using a vintage lens and adapter on a Canon body with a 1.6 crop factor, how will this affect my photos? Any lens recommendations to get me started, open to any suggestions, at the moment I'm currently looking at Takumars, a Tamron Adaptal 2 80 -210 and various FD lens. Help would much appreciated.

P.s how do I find out the shutter count of my camera, and I should I have it professionally inspected to prolong the life of it.

2. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,