Shooting at 77D

Discussion in 'Post Processing, Printing, and Scanning' started by John Hunter, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. John Hunter

    John Hunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Equipment:
    Canon 77D
    I have purchased a 77D. I am trying to upload shots for sale. The site says that I have to shoot for pics at 17MB. How do I adjust the size in the camera to shoot at this size?
     

  2. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60d, 10d, 1dmark3, t70 lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, Mamaya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    I suggest you use photoshop or one of the many other programs that is available. Take your photos in RAW and process them in one of the many programs that are available and save them as what ever file you need such as a JPEG and set the file size at the time of saving it
     
  3. John Hunter

    John Hunter New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Equipment:
    Canon 77D
    Tanks for you reply

    as you can see from my posts I have had great difficulty with Lightroom and finally got t work at a cost to me

    I really don't want to incur more costs with purchasing Photoshop and would like to know how I upload and save them at that size Lightroom

    Thanks
     
  4. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Well if you are using lightroom then you would want to export a small copy of the image for web usage maybe something around 1000pixels. Besides having issues with getting large files to upload on a variety of services, you really don't want to make the full resolution file easily available online where someone could rip it off. Even for the copy you export to print you can export at 300dpi for the image size you want rather than submitting the original to the printer.

    For the record, here the file size was less the issue, 4000 pixels on one side was hitting a dimension cap. The files we significantly smaller then 17mb.
     
  5. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    i should have been more clear with answer, lightroom does not save changes like size to your file. You import your original (or negative) raw being a good option because it is not compressed. You apply edits which are just saved in the lightroom catalog. They are not actual edits to file. you then can export a copy of the image with the edits applied in any of the available formats; you would here select the size of the image which you can resize down to the print or web size you would like. The final copy can be a compressed file for the web like jpg if you like since you wont keep editing it.
     
  6. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60d, 10d, 1dmark3, t70 lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, Mamaya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    I think using youtube is still you best way to learn type in youtube and then when it comes up on the screen. type in file sizes in Lightroom and it will give you a selection of things to look at.
    Use your pause and play button till you understand what is being taught, I also suggest you take some notes this will not cost you anything and above all be persistant
     
  7. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60d, 10d, 1dmark3, t70 lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, Mamaya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    John, I don't use or know any thing about lightroom so I have just looked it up on youtube and from what I have read and seen you have to export the file you wish to send and to do so you set the file type and it size.
    this is done with a slider going form 0 to 100. hope this helps a bit, I know this can be frustrating but keep trying you will work it out
     
  8. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    267
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60d, 10d, 1dmark3, t70 lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, Mamaya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    John, I think I have another way to help, what you need is a manual on Lightroom and this is a cost you don't need but if you download a copy of utorrent , then go on a site called magnetdl.com.
    Click on the software box and in the search box type lightroom.
    Click on the maglink to download a pdf file called "Teach yourself lightroom".
    The only cost will be if you try to print out the manual, You can read the pdf file like a book and this should give you a manual on lightroom.
    A lot of mucking around but another way to get the info you need so all the best with it.
     
  9. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I also second looking up videos on youtube and other sites that will show you how to do these things. Chris Marquardt does videos has a podcast and has a free lightroom pdf you may want to check out. He's a good resource to look into. http://1hour1000pics.com/ is the pdf I was referring to. His podcast is called Tips from the Top Floor which you may find a helpful listen

    Also I am moving the thread from the Hello to the appropriate category of processing printing and scanning.
     

Share This Page