Vivitar Lens stuck on a Canon A1

Discussion in 'Canon Film SLRs' started by Geralt, Dec 29, 2023.

  1. Geralt

    Geralt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Equipment:
    Canon T70, Canon A1
    Hello,

    I picked up a Canon A1 and it has a Vivitar Lens stuck on it.
    It's a 75-205mm 3.5.

    The red dot of the lens is at an exact 90degree angle and I can turn the ring counter clockwise about an inch or so.
    Beyond that it's absolutely stuck. For trying to remove the lens I set the aperture to 3.5

    I've been using a T70 for some time on which I mounted a Canon 1.8 50mm with the ring type, it mounts very easily and it's absolutely not possible to turn it to 90 degrees, there's about an
    inch in between to that point. About the same spot where the Vivitar is stuck on the A1.
    Now I worry that the Vivitar lens might be put on incorrectly because I can move the ring pretty easily between this one inch from the 90 degree point.

    Is it safe to try a strap wrench to remove the lens or might this damage the mount? I'm unsure if it was over tightened or put on incorrectly.
    If I'm risking damaging the A1, I'd rather keep the Vivitar lens on it because it seems to work. I can not see the aperture in the lens tho.

    Hope someone has an idea, thank you!
     

  2. Thumbnail

    Thumbnail Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    UK
    Geralt, I don't have the exact same lens as you, mine is 80-250mm, but the Adaptall mount is the same. Can you confirm that your camera and lens mount looks the same as mine here: Please excuse the dust on the camera, it's been stuck on shelf for a long while. :(
    A1-Adaptall.jpg

    The lens is fitted with an Adaptall mount. Even with the lens fitted to the camera the lens can be removed from the Adaptall mount by pressing the small silver tab shown here:
    Tab.jpg
    and gently turning the lens barrel anti-clockwise to release the lens from the mount.

    With the lens removed from the Adaptall mount try removing the mount from the camera by turning the breech ring anti-clockwise until it stops and then lifting the mount out of the camera. Let us know how you get on.
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2023
  3. Geralt

    Geralt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Equipment:
    Canon T70, Canon A1
    Hi!

    Thank you for your answer.
    I checked if there are any additional buttons or releases on the lens and there is unfortunately nothing. I added pictures of the camera and lens too. But it seems the lens mount being at 90° is normal.

    What the adaptall mount?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Thumbnail

    Thumbnail Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    UK
    With respect, your photo shows that the red dot is in the correct position at about 75-80 degrees from the vertical however, I don't recognise the adaptor if there is no silver release button. Looking at your first photo I see that the mount is not seated correctly against the camera, there is a distinct gap at the bottom. . . I suspect that the lens has been positioned incorrectly during fitting and then forced on.

    Check the function of the lens with the camera back open and if it is working ok, i.e. stopping down when the shutter is released, then I would use it as it is. I can see no other option now than brute force to remove it which may damage the camera mount.

    Without the camera in my hand I'm afraid there is nothing more I can suggest, sorry.
     
  5. Geralt

    Geralt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2023
    Messages:
    3
    Equipment:
    Canon T70, Canon A1
    Thank you a lot for the info!

    Yes it kinda looks like the lens mount is a little off. Otherwise the condition of the A1 is not bad, so even if I could use it only with this lens would be better than breaking it by trying to remove.

    There's a repair store for old cameras nearby which I will visit next year. To have someone with more knowledge than me inspect this in person.
    Maybe by using the strap wrench and some wiggling it's possible to remove... I will ask for advise, a repair store has maybe seen a lens stuck like this before.

    But first I need to replace the battery as it seems almost dead, when I press the battery check button the red light doesn't stay on, or goes flashing. Then I'll properly check all functions.

    The mount type of the lens seems to be the same one as the older canon FD lenses with the only difference that the ring is black instead of silver.
     
  6. Thumbnail

    Thumbnail Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    UK
    Sorry Geralt, I missed your question about the Adaptall mount. There is some very good info on the 'net but briefly Tamron, back in the 1960s, had the brilliant idea of designing a set of lenses that could be used with their interchangeable adaptors that would allow the lens to be used with most SLR cameras of the day simply by buying the appropriate mount which was far cheaper than buying a new lens. Thus, the Adaptall Mount system was born.
    This was a big advantage for me in those cash-strapped days as I switched camera brands a number of times but only ever had to buy an Adaptall adaptor to suit the camera. It was, I believe, the forerunner of today's trend of camera/lens adaptors although modern camera electronics make it a far more complicated affair.
     
  7. T90

    T90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2023
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Equipment:
    2 Canon T90's.300TL flash.50mm F1.8.70-210mm F4.
    Manfrotto 055B tripod with 029 QR head and monopod.
    Tamron wide angle and Sigma one!.28-85mm. Cokin filters and other junk!
    Tamron 500 F8 mirror.Tamron 135mm 2,8
    He's not using a Tamron lens it's Vivitar which the mount is camera make specific.
     
  8. T90

    T90 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2023
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Equipment:
    2 Canon T90's.300TL flash.50mm F1.8.70-210mm F4.
    Manfrotto 055B tripod with 029 QR head and monopod.
    Tamron wide angle and Sigma one!.28-85mm. Cokin filters and other junk!
    Tamron 500 F8 mirror.Tamron 135mm 2,8
    Think it's a strap wrench type jobbie?
    As unless the lens is in the right line up(Line giving focussing info/depth of field)the mechanism that works aperture and selector pin will not function!
    What it looks like is the lens wasn't sat right when lock ring was tightened up
     
  9. Thumbnail

    Thumbnail Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    378
    Location:
    UK
    You're right of course T90, I have no idea how Tamron lens got stuck in y head. I have both Tamron and Vivitar lenses for my A1 and AE-1 so there's no excuse. I'll go sit on the naughty step for an hour in penance. :(
     
    T90 likes this.

Share This Page