Youtube

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by GFutures, Apr 16, 2022.

1. GFutures

GFutures New Member

Equipment:
    m50
    Hi,

So I've been using the M50 with the kit lens for the past 12+ months, I've been doing YouTube videos and they have been doing decent for a channel my size ( about 7k subs). Recently I decided it was time to invest in my "studio" a bit more so my setup is changing. Instead of just being a talking head in my videos I decided I want to do more of a sitting at a desk type of talking video. The issue I am running into now, is when I get everything setup you cannot see anything under the mid chest and down including the desk. The camera is about 32" from my face.

I need to be able to see about 12-15 more inches down, would a 22mm lens be what I'm looking for?
    I shoot in low light and my settings for the 15-45mm are : 1/60,F3.5 and iso 320 with my K at 3200. The picture is exactly how I want it to look minus not being able to see everything I can.

My "studio" is a smaller room and my goal is to keep everything attached to my second desk, because the issues I run into now are when I set everything up its not exactly the same as it was before ( a bit OCD ) so attaching lights,camera,boom arm to a desk that I can push out of the way when I dont need it and then bring it back to the exact spot on the floor when im ready.

Any suggestions? I've looked at the "nifty 50" everyone talks about but I honestly don't want to just buy something random.

Thanks!

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100