airport scanners

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by seasider, Oct 3, 2019.

  1. seasider

    seasider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Equipment:
    60D
    i have just returned from holiday with 900+ photos on a 64gb lexar pro sd card in 60D camera, after going through security at Cologne airport all my photos had disappeared.. i went to download when i got home and the card was corrupted and no photos available after many rears i purchased a recovery program and got all but 6 photos back, with appx 6 more with block of purple stripe patches on them..... has anyone else experienced this and is there a way to protect them on future journeys..
     

  2. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I have not, nor have I known anyone who has. There have been lots of tests for this, Xray should have no affect on flash memory, neither should the metal detector as there is not enough electronic interference to make it unsafe. I have some questions, did you perhaps max out the card, delete files off card while not in camera, pull the card out while the camera is on, or use card in more than one camera without formatting? All of those are not advised and could corrupt the cameras format/writing system.

    On a side note, film is a completely different story in an Xray machine.
     
  3. seasider

    seasider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Equipment:
    60D
    Thank you johnsey, during my last day i had viewed a couple of the photos, then in the evening after dark i took a couple of outside images, viewed them, put the camera away, ready for home journey and didn't touch it any more until i went to download on my computer in DPP, which showed i had 900+ photos, left it to download and then found that it told me the file is corrupted and there were no photos., i put the card back in the camera to view and message said card could not be used ... must format. ( i have since done that and tested the card and all seems to be working ok ). I did none of the things you ask about, i also always make sure when i have formatted the card in camera that i move off of the format menu, just in case of an accident. I have tried endlessly for an explanation, but can't find one..
     
  4. seasider

    seasider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Equipment:
    60D
    Hi again, Just thought.... i have always used a 32 gb card which counts down from 999 on the screen. i bought the 64gb for holiday and have noticed that it stays at 999, and i assumed that once i had taken the 1000 photos it would start to show the countdown, as it does with the 32gb. .. as i shoot in raw the 32gb gives me 999 photos, so i worked on that logic, as it was not showing 1999 at the start.... could this be relevant in any way, i have never shot that many photos on the 64..
     
  5. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    408
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    This should not be relevant, your LCD only has 3 digits for image count down so if its more than 999 it will show 999. Counter should start counting down once you get to 999 remaining. 32Gigs would in theory be about 1200-1300 shots in raw given the file size and not considering any formating size loss.
    I have 16 and 32 gig CFs and my numbers have been conservative from my 5dII where the 32gig i would expect at least 1000 with formatting it has typically read out shy of 900.
    It is possible your SD card may be at fault, but you said its working now. I would also argue for working with a couple smaller cards. I know cost isn't an issue like the CFs had been historically, but if you shoot a few smaller cards and one corrupts you don't loose the whole trip. That said I have never had my CF or SD cards corrupt. *knock on wood*
     
  6. seasider

    seasider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Equipment:
    60D
    I have previously always used 16 or 32 gigs, thought i would treat myself for this one.... big mistake i suppose, but it so strange that i had viewed the photos before packing up for home, and then all gone after the airport,.....i have been convinced that was the problem.... the only thankful thing is that i was able to retrieve them with the recovery program, even though it was more expense.. thank you so much for your help, and i hope your luck holds out.... i shall be very nervous next time i travel.
     
  7. seasider

    seasider New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Equipment:
    60D
    Hi Johnsey, thought i would give you an update....been in touch with Ryanair, who obviously say that there is no problem with the scanners and camera cards etc.. ( but i just wanted them to know about it )... went to card retailer , who referred me to Lexar.. who in turn asked lots of questions and then sent me details to go through a procedure to put my card back to its original state when purchased.... the holiday company were very kind and refunded me the cost of the recovery program...
    I did initially have problems downloading new photos via my card reader, but that seems to have sorted itself out... and so far with the few photos i have taken , all seems to be ok ... fingers crossed... still don't know what i will do on future flights though.... will be very wary ...fortunately i don't fly a lot...
     

Share This Page