Connecting an AODELAN wireless remote to my EOS M50

Discussion in 'Canon EOS M Series' started by Clown, Mar 22, 2023.

  1. Clown

    Clown New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2023
    Messages:
    2
    Equipment:
    EOSM50 with adaptor to use EF lenses and a AODELAN Wireless remote Control
    I believe I have successfully paired the remote with the camera (or at least it says it is paired). I have the switch in the non-video mode which I assume is for stills. When I press the remote button it displays a rapid flashing of the bulb on the remote and the camera does nothing. I am apparently missing a step and have no idea what it is. Anyone able to tell me what I am doing wrong from the above information? I am guessing I am not doing the last step and the manual doesn't offer any help as they basically have instructions for cell phones only as far as I can read.
     

  2. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2,158
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    It may be a compatibility issue, that's the problem with these cheap Chinese knock off products. I googled the brand, seems like there are a few remotes, but also seems like the remote compatibility is different on each website. https://www.aliexpress.us/item/2255...tewayAdapt=glo2usa4itemAdapt&_randl_shipto=US
     
  3. Caladina

    Caladina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    1,798
    Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,
    on the M50 the drive mode needs to be in 10sec/remote for the camera to work with the remote controller
    also in the yellow rench menu number 1 4th one down "wireless communications" click that and third one down should say
    Bluetooth Function Remote
    if not click that to set disable, smartphone or remote

    i use the canon BR-E1 but i know the others work fine with it too

    the drive mode is where you select the frame rate when you take images,
    Quick access is the Q-set button in the center of the D-pad then drive modes are the third down on the left.

    let us know how you do, if it solves the problem,
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2023
  4. Clown

    Clown New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2023
    Messages:
    2
    Equipment:
    EOSM50 with adaptor to use EF lenses and a AODELAN Wireless remote Control
    Caladina-You got it! Unfortunately the Chinese forgot to put that step in the manual and so did Canon. Thanks for the insightful knowledge. I am tinkering with doing closeup photo so needed an inexpensive remote to decrease vibration. Your response has me snapping away! Thank you!
     
  5. Caladina

    Caladina Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2020
    Messages:
    1,798
    Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,
    for minimizing camera shake you can use the 2 or 10 sec timer, it will wait 2 or 10 seconds then take the image, but yes the remote will do it too

    which lens/lenses do you have for the M50, i've been using it for 3 years and have quite a few
     
  6. Daytonn

    Daytonn New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2023
    Messages:
    12
    Equipment:
    lenses and nikon camera
    First ensuring that the switch is set in the correct mode. Although this step may already be addressed, it's worth double-checking that you're in stills mode and not video mode.

    Next, attempt holding down the remote button for a few seconds rather than just a quick tap when pressing it again. This may help the camera identify the signal from the remote.

    If the above step fails, reset the remote as some electronic devices can occasionally glitch. By resetting and renewing the pairing process, you might find that the issue is resolved.

    In the event that none of these steps are useful, consider contacting either the manufacturer or a photography specialist for additional help. They may have more tailored advice or troubleshooting methods to suggest.

    Best of luck to you!
     

Share This Page