Hello from Athens Greece

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by Hurricanes4life, Feb 27, 2022.

1. Hurricanes4life

Hurricanes4life New Member

Equipment:
    Eos 2000D
    Hi guys,
    I'm a complete beginner. I am hoping to get some advice on a good beginner camera.
    Thanks in advance.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Welcome to the forums!

Do you have the 2000D you listed as equipment? Getting an entry level kit is a good idea if your a beginner, you can always add gear from there.

3. Hurricanes4life

Equipment:
    Eos 2000D
    Thank you for your reply.
    I have to be honest I don't actually own the 2000D but I did some research and if Im not mistaken this is a good beginner camera.
    Also I was looking at a Powershot sx420 which I have found on sale for an extremely low price. I would appreciate your advice on the powershot if it's something I should look at.
    Thanks in advance.

4. johnsey

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    The powershot is a fancy point and shoot, your rebel (2000d) will allow you different lenses and external flash. There would be more to learn from the rebel.

5. Hurricanes4life

Equipment:
    Eos 2000D
    Yes I see what you mean, point taken my friend. I have much to digest thank you for your expertise advice.

6. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    My two cents worth.

I would recommend the dslr. If you do want to develop this interest, you are going to be limited with the Powershot. Yes, the Powershot shot will be easier to use when you are starting out. But you are going to be buying another camera in time if you like the hobby and you want try newer things.