Help with Back Button Focus

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Tatlyned, May 12, 2021.

1. Tatlyned

Tatlyned New Member

Equipment:
    Canon Rebel sl2. Kit Lens and 75 300 mm
    Hi! A little background, I'm fairly new to DSLR cameras but I have taken several online courses and so I'm progressing. My weak point is understanding the autofocus system (you'd think that would be the easy part!) I shoot on manual. I recently set up back-button focusing and I'm confused. This is what I do -- select my subject --- set focus by pressing the button dedicated to back button focusing (the asterisk) recompose and take the picture. As I understand it, once I set the focus I should be able to recompose to my heart's content without losing focus. That being the case, when I look at the photos in the Canon software and check the focus point, you'd think the focus point would always remain in the same position even though I've recomposed the photo. It's not at all though? It's never in the same spot! lol. Can someone tell me what I'm doing wrong or what I'm missing? I'm definitely set up correctly for back-button focusing and I have it set to AI SERVO AF.

2. rayallen

rayallen Well-Known Member Site Supporter

3. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50
    Canon 18-45mm m, Canon 18-150mm m, Canon 55-200mm m, Canon 22mm m, Canon 28mm m macro,
    Sigma 100-400c ef, Sigma 18-35mm art ef,
    7artisans 7.5mm m, Laowa 100mm macro ef, laowa 9mm zeroD m, Vintage M42 Lenses:
    Ashi Super - Takumar 1.8 / 55mm,
    is this the same as using af to focus on your subject then switching to mf and re-composing to take the picture?
    I usually will hit exposure lock before moving to re compose also

4. rayallen

No, for me it is using spot focus to focus on a particular point, hold focus with BBF and recompose the image.