How to connect Canon 760D to PC?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Ray, Aug 22, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    My camera : Canon Rebel T6s (760D)
    My computer : Windows 10 Home 64b. desktop
    My problem:
    Micro USB cord is used to connect the camera to my PC. But, either the camera cannot communicate with the PC or the PC cannot read the camera. Nothing happens.
    My question:
    What goes wrong in my operation? Please help.

    Thanks
    Ray
     

  2. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    281
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60d, 10d, 1dmark3, t70 lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, Mamaya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    Ray, I connect my 60D to my computer and laptop. You should have a EOS Digital solution disk that come with the camera. This allows you camera to communicate with the computer. I have version 24.1. If you do not have the software go onto the canon site, you should be able to get it there. All the best with it , Craig S.
     
  3. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you, Craig.
    Yes, I do have a CD labeled Canon EOS digital Solution Disk. I'll install this to my PC and see what happens.
    Thank you, Craig.
    Ray
     
  4. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Canon EOS digital Solution 30.4 is installed. Have to run the disk manually. After changing the firewall settings and double click on EOS Utility, comes on an EOS Utility Launcher, Connect an EOS camera, but it stays there idle, does not run, does not show any info or warning.

    What else needs to be taken care of for it to run?

    Thanks.
    Ray
     
  5. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    160
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    You should be able to connect the camera, turn it on, and start Canon utility. The utility window if it sees the camera will give you options to download, shoot tethered, or change camera settings. It sounded like the utility is started but you mentioned sitting idle, so I'm not sure if you tried clicking on any of those options. If the camera is connected while i think it terminates the connection so half press the shutter or turn off and on again to re-establish the connection.
     

Share This Page