I found out the hard way that my photo editing software does not recognize RAW files.

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Tonytee, Jun 26, 2020.

  1. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    After an afternoon of shooting I attempted to transfer my images onto Olympus Viewer 3 and discovered it does not recognize RAW files from my 80d. I have approximately 175 images on the card and only 13 were transferred. Now what can I do to salvage these images as they are important to me.

    Many thanks,

    Tony
     

  2. GDN

    GDN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff

    Do you have any Canon software? Or Adobe software?

    If so, I would try using these first.

    Gary
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  3. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    Hello Gary, thanks very much for the info. I downloaded Canon's Digital Photo Professional ver. 4.12 and discovered that there is no way to upload RAW files into the program. Ugggghhhh! Digital Photography, what did I do to myself? :(( tt
     
  4. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    pop them into photoshop, it reads raw files.
     
  5. porkphoto

    porkphoto Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    Messages:
    563
    Location:
    Southern California, USA
    Equipment:
    1DmkIII, 1DSmkII, 50d, 7d, 6d, 70d, 17-40 f4L, 24-70 f4L IS, 100 f2.8L IS macro, 200 f2.8L, 300 f4L IS, 300 f2.8L
    I use DPP to transfer my images from the card to my desktop all the time. Its odd that you're unable to do so. I shoot raw all the time too. Hmmm...
     
  6. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    747
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Yeah, Canon DPP is designed to be used with Canon RAW files, on a side note he Olympus viewer is for Olympus cameras and supports the RAW files from that brand. Personally I use the Canon EOS Utility to copy the files from the camera if you do not use a card reader.
    But once on the computer Canon DPP can view the file and then do your adjustments to the image. You will need to save as a file format such as tiff of jpg.

    https://www.usa.canon.com/internet/...ss-cameras/dslr/eos-80d?tab=drivers_downloads
     
  7. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    Will you please tell me how you work the process on DPP? Thnx, Tony
     
  8. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    I can use the settings: RAW + JPEG and then upload into Olympus with no problems. However I wonder if I will lose Image Quality. ??

    Thnx again, Tony
     
  9. Craig Sherriff

    Craig Sherriff Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    817
    Location:
    Tasmania, Australia
    Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets, Pentax MG and various lenses
    Tony, you are using two different files, the raw file contains all the info the camera recorded and the JPEG is like a cut down version that different programs can use, such as your computer or laptop's photo viewer, etc.
    The easy way too look at it is, the raw file is like a photo negative and the JPEG is the developed photo, hope this helps.
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  10. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    Hi Craig, yes you are correct. Another way to look at it is, a RAW photo is not a photo at all, but computer code. That is why it cannot be uploaded into Editing Software. There are some exceptions I know i,e. Photoshop and Lightroom with the advent of more advanced technology. In fact, I recently discovered the Windows Photo app., does allow RAW photos to be uploaded, however they must be copied in order to convert them to JPEG. I can edit the RAW photos in FastStonesimageviewer, but then when completed, I have to roll the image over back to Windows Photo app, but then, RAW images cannot be rolled over. Meaning I cannot upload them into Pentax Forums and other photo sites. tt
     
  11. Isac

    Isac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II
    Canon SX-50
    Lenses:
    Canon-10 - 300mm
    Tamron-17-400mm
    Sigma-18-500
    Tony, I'd love to help. I've been editing for donkey's years and would like to know your workflow, from the camera, the types of files you copy to your card and the editing software you use. Also how do you get your photos from camera to computer? What computer and operating system do you have? Cheers mate!
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  12. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.

    Hello Isac, and many thanks for your willingness to be of assistance. I believe the problem at this point is that I am using incorrect terminology in explaining my dilemma. What I am attempting to do is transfer my Canon 80d RAW images into Canon's DPP ver., 4 editing software, however I am unable to locate an icon that tells me, "Click here to transfer images." In Canon's DPP I can import images from other software and work on them, albeit very limited in my view. Thanks again, Tony :)
     
  13. Isac

    Isac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II
    Canon SX-50
    Lenses:
    Canon-10 - 300mm
    Tamron-17-400mm
    Sigma-18-500
    Thanks Tony for the information. It's not easy when you know what you want to do but can't get things to work as it should. I won't give up on you, so I need you to answer each of the following questions and I'm sure you will be up and running in no time at all:
    1. What computer operating system are you using - Windows or Mac?
    2. How do you want to transfer your camera images to your computer? Cable from camera to computer or do you take out the SD card and put it into a card reader?
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  14. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.

    Responses. #1. Windows 10.
    #2. I usually insert the SD Card into the computer's card reader. However in this instance, I used both the SD Card into the Card Reader and also the USB Cable hooked into the camera and the computer. I thought that somehow this would activate an icon instructing me to "Upload here." Thanks, very much appreciated. tt
     
  15. Isac

    Isac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II
    Canon SX-50
    Lenses:
    Canon-10 - 300mm
    Tamron-17-400mm
    Sigma-18-500
    All good Tony, I can help you out. I figure you just want to transfer your images from the camera to your computer. First off, let me say this: I'm not a fan of DPP. I prefer to have full control of how I save my images to my computer. If this is what you want to do, let me know and I'll guide you through the process, so you don't have to rely on 3rd party software and just use Windows to get the job done faster with no fuss. I'll also help you out with how to quickly edit you photos (all for FREE!). Get back to me soon so we can get you up and running :)
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  16. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    Sounds like a plan, young man. :) Thnx. tt
     
  17. Isac

    Isac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II
    Canon SX-50
    Lenses:
    Canon-10 - 300mm
    Tamron-17-400mm
    Sigma-18-500
    Great. First thing is to just show your desktop and insert the SD card into your cardreader. I need to now what happens after you insert it. Any messages or anything that automatically shows up. Once I know that, we can start getting you organised for some easy image transfers to your PC and get stuck into some simple methods to view and edit your images.
    Have you got a good idea of how to use the Windows Explorer File Manager? That's what we'll be using to start off. If nothing is happening when you insert your SD card, we can set it up to automatically open the Windows Explorer File Manager to show you what's on the card.
    PS - I like the Young Man remark, I'm only 3 years behind you :) Cheers.
     
    Tonytee likes this.
  18. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.
    Okay, first I need to know what type of files you are wanting to help me with transferring? I have no problem transferring images from my Canon 80d into Windows Photo Editor and Olympus Viewer ver., 3 as long as they are JPEG. In Olympus Viewer, I can transfer files that were shot in RAW+JPEG with no problems, but not RAW Files exclusively. In Windows Photo Editor I am able to transfer RAW files without any problems, but then I have to make a copy which will convert the RAW file to JPEG. I am able to edit a RAW File in Windows Photo Editor, however once editing is completed, I have to roll over the image into Windows Photo Editor and there lies the problem. RAW files cannot be rolled over. Clear as mud, right? At any rate I am okay transferring RAW files from my camera and into Windows Photo Editor as long as I make a copy prior to editing in RAW. If this is in anyway unclear, please let me know and many thanks. Cheers Mate, :) Tony
     
  19. Isac

    Isac Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    73
    Equipment:
    Cameras:
    7D / 7D Mark II
    Canon SX-50
    Lenses:
    Canon-10 - 300mm
    Tamron-17-400mm
    Sigma-18-500
    Hi Tony. First, I would like to introduce you to the "Faststone Image Viewer". It's a powerful and super fast image view and editor and can open and edit RAW or JPG files very easily. Just download it from HERE and install it. It's easy to just use the Windows Explorer to copy and paste your images into a folder on your C-Drive. rather than Windows Photo Editor.
    After you copy all the RAW (CR2) and JPG files to a folder on your hard drive (C), do the following:
    1. Use the Windows Explorer to navigate to that folder.
    2. Right-Click ONCE on a .JPG file and Left-Click "Open with".
    3. If "Faststone Image Viewer" is in the list, Left-Click on it and check "Always use this app to open .JPG files".
    4. If "Faststone Image Viewer" is NOT the list, Left-Click "Choose another app". Scroll to the bottom of the list and Left-Click "More apps". Scroll to the bottom of that list and Left-Click "Look for another app on this PC". Navigate to "C:\Program Files (x86)\Faststone Image Viewer" folder and Double-Click FSViewer.exe.
    5. #4 will place the "Faststone Image Viewer" in the list so you can now repeat #3.
    Repeat the process for .CR2 files. This will now let you view the files when you Double-Clip them. Once you do that and the Faststone program is running, press F12 to open the settings dialog box. I have set mine as below but you can do any way you like, just experiment.
    SH_468.jpg
    You can have the images show Browser view, Full Screen or Windowed view. Ignore Windowed view.
    To edit your images if you are in Browser View, just Double-Click it. This will make it "Full Screen" and this is where the fun starts!
    Editing can only be done in full screen.

    Editing your images while in full screen mode.
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    You can open various menus or tool boxes by moving the mouse to the edge of your screen.
    1. Left Edge: "File and Slideshow" Editing Tools.
    2. Right Edge: File and Attributes.
    3. Top Edge: Image strip and All menus
    4. Bottom Edge: All menus.
    After you edit an image (CR2 or JPG) you can save it as a different filename, by pressing CTRL + S or Right-Click anywhere on the image and select "Save as..."

    I hope this makes things easy for you.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2020
    Tonytee likes this.
  20. Tonytee

    Tonytee Well-Known Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,649
    Equipment:
    Canon EOS Rebel T5 with Canon EF-S 18~55mm kit lens and Canon EF-S 55-250 mm 1:4~5.6 IS II
    Telephoto Lens.

    Hello Isac, very sorry, but I had mentioned that I do use FastStoneimageviewer. Have used it for the last ten years or so. However, I will do as you have instructed. Will be back to report on the results. Thanks again mate, I genuinely appreciate your taking the time and making the effort to help. Talk to you soon. Where are you located, in the U.K. ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 30, 2020

Share This Page