M50, 250D, or something else?

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Vojtooo, Mar 6, 2021.

Tags:
?

M50, 250D or something else

1. M50

50.0%
  2. 250D

50.0%
  3. something else

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Vojtooo

Vojtooo New Member

Hi,

I am a newbie getting into photography and I am trying to pick the best value for money camera. My aim is landscape, architecture + portrait. Right now, my favourites are M50 and 250D, which cost approximately the same where I live.

Which one of these would you consider better? Or is there something better (maybe coming in 2021)?

From what I know, they are very similar, but 250D uses EF lenses, that are more available and cheaper, while the age of EFM lenses might be over.
    On the other hand, M50 has that centerpin for flash.

2. Craig Sherriff

Craig Sherriff Well-Known Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    60D, 10D, 50D 1dmark3, T70, AV1, lenses ranging from 28mm to 600 mm, canonet Junior, Canonet QL 25, Mamiya C3 and 3 lens sets,Mamiya 645 pro TL and 3 lenses. Pentax MG and various lenses, Toyoview 4 * 5 inch large format camera,Calimat C1 8*10 inch ultra large format camera.
    welcome vojtoo, any modern camera can do any of these things, it will be the choice of lens you need to consider for your style of photography.

3. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    I would opt for something in the dslr over the m series simply for the larger variety of lens options. You could also consider a slightly older but step up model and get something like a 70d or 80d. the lower end of the bodies are a bit more simple like a point and shoot and some people want to step up in camera quicker. But there are no wrong answers

4. Caladina

Caladina Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    Canon M50