Need help taking pictures of Comet Neowise with Powershot SX280HS

Discussion in 'Canon PowerShot Series' started by Tim, Jul 18, 2020.

1. Tim

Tim New Member

Equipment:
    Canon sx280hs
    Hello,

I was wondering if someone could help me out by telling me if a Canon SX280HS is capable of taking low-light photographs of the Comet NEOWISE? If it is possible, would someone be able to help me out with the settings.

I'm a straight out amateur. I have very little understanding of ISO settings and shutter speeds even though I've always been aware that they are important and I have messed with ISO settings in the past.

My problem is this: I'm afraid that the comet is going to be gone before I become proficient with taking night shots with the camera (If it is even possible to achieve.)

I can't seem to figure out from the manual how to change the shutter speed, but nonetheless, I did manage to change it somehow, and now it says that the ISO setting is locked because of the slow shutter speed. The shutter seems to be open for about 8 seconds or more and when I try to take a picture with any light the screen is almost completely white. The camera also takes a very long time to store the photograph. Taking a picture (on a tripod) at night doesn't seem to work and just results in a completely black picture except if I take a picture of a streetlamp in the distance.

Clouds are always in our forecast and it seems like tonight might be my only chance of getting a good shot of the comet. Running out of time.

Can my camera take the picture? I would greatly appreciate any advice if it is possible. I usually can figure things out like this if I have a long time to mess around, but I don't have the skill and experience to do it quickly.

Thank you in advance for any advice.
    Regards,
    Tim

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment: