Pixelated pictures

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Janeth, Jul 21, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Janeth

Janeth New Member

Hi all, I am pretty new to photography. I used to use a D5100 and am now using a rebel t7. I am stumped at something that happened when I switched. I take pictures of cars. When I take pictures of the outside of the cars about 3-4 yards away and upload them the pictures are really pixelated. But when I zoom in the pictures are not pixelated. What does this mean and how do I fix it? The last camera I had never did this.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Hi Janeth, It would help to know some other details.
    The camera switch and the distance from object none of that should have a direct effect on how pixelated it is.
    ISO would introduce noise witch would show pixels more pronounce when you are zoomed in, that doesn't sound like your issue.
    When you say you zoom in, where are you zooming in and not seeing pixelation?
    When you upload, where are you uploading that is producing a pixelated image.
    Are you shooting raw or jpg?

3. Janeth

Janeth New Member

Thank you for quick reply. I am zooming in when I am editing, I use a combination of the Digital Photo Professional Canon Software and the basic picture editing software that comes with Windows, and both are always pixelated when the picture is normal but when I zoom in its not pixelated. I am currently using raw because it looked like it helped a little bit with quality of the picture. However, when I was using JPG it had the same problem, just a little worse.

4. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment: