Shooting in the dark

Discussion in 'Beginner Questions' started by Pete.c, Oct 24, 2018.

1. Pete.c

Pete.c Member

Equipment:
    Canon Eos 5D iv, Canon EOS 77D, Canon 10 - 18mm, Sigma 17-70mm, Sigma 105mm macro, Sigma 70 - 300mm, Tamron 150-600mm F/5-6.3, Canon 50mm 1.8 STM
    Hi all,

As an absolute novice I am trying to gain experience of all aspects of photography. Yep this is wrong I suppose. Should concentrate at getting one thing right before I move to the next, but that's just me I suppose.
    The thing is I am having a little play around with a few pictures at night. I have looked around the internet to get a few ideas and the settings in manual to use as a beginner I know there are no settings that are a hard and fast rule, depends on a lot of factors. And the answer appears to be shutter speed 0f 10 secs and ISO 1600, I have tried these and yes the pictures are better than I took previously, but they are noisy and not too clear have you any suggestions on this matter.

Thanks, Pete.

2. johnsey

johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

Equipment:
    5dMk4, 5dsR, 5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50mm 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0L, TS-E 24mm 3.5L II, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    Hi Pete,

I'm not too sure what the scene you were exposing should have been shot at, but I am willing to guess that you were still under exposing the scene. You would likely see a little noise at 1600, but under exposure would make it look worse. Not sure what you mean by unclear as well, i assume you are using a tripod so that should mean that the is no blur do to camera shake. Depending on how dark it is, likely you may have trouble getting focus, it may be easier to focus manually when it is that dark.

Last edited: Oct 24, 2018
  3. GDN

GDN Well-Known Member

Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    Hi Pete,