Which single "starter lens for EOS R6: RF 70~200 or RF 100~500?

Discussion in 'Canon Lens Discussion' started by Matsaly, Aug 26, 2020.

1. Matsaly

Matsaly New Member

Equipment:
    Leica Q2
    Greetings,

I'm new to the forum and look forward to learning as well as helping others as I can. I'm about to buy a EOS R6 and need advice on a single starter lens.

I am an intermediate level amateur photographer and my wife is a beginner. Our main use is general travel photography. I bought her a Leica Q2 as an all-around high quality camera. The Leica is a full frame camera with a fixed lens (28mm f1.7)

In the past I rented a Canon EOS R and various RF lenses to "supplement " the Leica during our travels, I'm now interested in buying the new EO R6 as it seems like a good camera for my purposes.

I'm contemplating my first and primary lens as either the RF 70-200 f2.8 or the RF 100~500 f4.5~7.1. They are similarly priced. My rationale is that of she shoots with the Leica Q2 the 28mm will be good for landscape photography, street and interiors due to fast 1.7 aperture.

Where the Q2 falls down is on medium/long range telephoto range. My idea is to get one of the previously mentioned lenses to "cover" situations where the Leica is insufficient.

While I stated that my primary use case is an all around zoom tele , I do expect to do some (20%) amateur sports photography (our local tennis club) and occasional wildlife (birding) photography.

Once we begin traveling again I would be inclined to rent (or buy) a 2nd lens to round out my use of the R6 but for purposes of this question lets assume that I will always use just 1 lens on the R6. *Remember that my wife will be shooting with the Leica 28 mm so please frame your answers in the context of my question.

IF you feel there is a better option within the Canon RF series please let me know. I'm not "limited" to just the 2 lenses I mentioned but they seemed like good solutions to my issue.