What happened to this CR2 RAW fils?

Discussion in 'Technical Troubleshooting' started by Ray, Sep 12, 2019 at 8:50 AM.

  1. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    What happened to this CR2 RAW fils?

    Camera : Canon Rebel T6s
    Lens : Canon EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
    Shooting Mode : Av f/5.6 1/641s ISO800 29mm
    File : CR2 RAW file 33.4MB
    1. CR2 RAW file is downloaded to PC, Windows 10 Home.
    2. RAW file is then converted to Jpeg. This the Jpeg image.
    +[​IMG]
    3.DPP shows the exif data. Does not show anything wrong.
    +[​IMG]
    4. But this is what happens when the CR2 RAW file is opened by Camera Raw in PS cc 2017.
    +[​IMG]

    This is one of the CR2 RAW files having similar problems.
    My questions:
    1. What happened to these CR2 RAW files?
    2. How to prevent the problem from happening again?

    Thanks you!
    Ray
     

  2. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    HI Ray, none of your posted images are viewable, they don't appear to be jpgs.
    Without your images its a bi confusing what you are trying to show us. Particularly the steps. You say you converted at download but then steps 3 and 4 are still about the raw file. I'm not sure how it got "converted" and what the issue with the raw is just based on your text.

    Several programs will view raw, they do not edit raw or convert the file. Lightroom allows you to import them into the catalog and make edits, but those are saved in a file separate from the raw (your lightroom library). You then save a new copy to pint or post such as a jpg. The idea here is making the edits non-destructively, thus any edit can be undone without changing the file since the source file never gets edited.

    Photoshop will view your raw but once you go to save you need to pick a new file type like DNG for example which is Photoshop's digital negative type, other good options would be a tiff file as it is not compressed. You now have the a new file with your edits, I only suggest compressed file formats like jpg as a final output for web since it is not designed for editing again and again as it will degrade being compressed over and over. This workflow will create multiple files and you probably still want to hold onto the original raw if you need to go back.

    Maybe some of this helps your question, maybe not.
     
    Ray likes this.
  3. GDN

    GDN Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff
    Any chance of trying to reload your images?

    Gary
     
    Ray likes this.
  4. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you, Johnsey.

    "HI Ray, none of your posted images are viewable, they don't appear to be jpgs."
    This is what I did. Do not know why images are not showing.
    1. Image files were reduced to their minimum sizes, could be under 50KB each.
    2. Images were uploaded to Google Photos.
    3. URLs of the images were copied from Google Phtotos & pasted on this forum.
    4. All images were showing at the time when I posted this article.
    How to post images on this forum, please?

    "You say you converted at download but then steps 3 and 4 are still about the raw file."
    This is what I always do after shooting.
    1. Download all files to my PC.
    2. Covert all files to Jpeg files so that I can view them on a 22"-monitor & choose the ones I want to edit.
    3. Check the exif data of the chosen CR2 RAW files prior editing.
    4. Then, the chosen CR2 RAW files are edited by Camera Raw in Photoshop CC 2017.

    About steps 3 and 4:
    Step 3 is a print screen picture of DPP showing the exif data of the CR2 RAW file.
    Step 4 is also a print screen picture showing the incomplete image which Camera Raw is opening.

    "I only suggest compressed file formats like jpg as a final output for web since it is not designed for editing again and again as it will degrade being compressed over and over. "
    1. From the very beginning of my digital photography, I started learning the editing steps in Photoshop, then in Camera Raw.
    2. In fact, I do not know how to use Lightroom.
    3. The mean point that I take pictures is that I go hiking and photography adds some tastes to hiking.
    4. Therefore, A) I do not photograph for photography, B) I edit my images just for covering or correcting mistakes, and C) I know only the necessary steps of the basic for editing my images in Camera Raw & Photoshop.

    Please teach me how to attach photos in my post. I am going to post again for the same issue.

    Again, thank you.
    Ray
     
  5. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you, GDN.

    Sorry the image not showing. I am going to post again for the same issue. The problem is a multi-fold one. Too troublesome for me to explain or for you to help me without the relevant pictures.

    Thanks you.
    Ray
     
  6. GDN

    GDN Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff

    I am with Johnsey in regards of being a little confused with the way you have described your problem you are facing. So if you can reload them, I am sure you will get some pointers from someone with your problem.

    Gary
     
  7. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you again, GDN.

    I am waiting for someone to teach me how to attack images to my post. I will certainly re-post the same issue and possible more.\
    I have no idea why the images do not show. This is what I did:
    1. Image files were reduced to their minimum sizes, could be under 50KB each.
    2. Images were uploaded to Google Photos.
    3. URLs of the images were copied from Google Phtotos & pasted on this forum.
    4. All images were showing at the time when I posted this article.
    Did I do any step wrong or did I miss any necessary step?
    Will you please be so kind as to inform me how to post images on this forum, please?

    With many thanks
    Ray
     
  8. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    You have the option of using a URL like you did, or using a photo you uploaded to your gallery on the forums.

    Since you used google photos, I am guessing you did not make the photo link public and you can see it because your browser is logged into your account.

    A good test for this would be to use a web browser you don't use to view the image link or even this thread. You should be able to see what we see, and after changing the permissions you can verify it is working.

    You should be able to set a folder to be public so you can toss things in there. If it was a image of yours I would definitely do that with a scaled down copy for the web on something like google photos/drive, one drive, flikr, etc.. for copyright concerns. However if you just want to share a simple screenshot to explain something i like using imgur.com (makes it so I don't have to host junk images in my online accounts).

    See this example to show what we see...
    https://imgur.com/a/6CvjPrY
    https://i.imgur.com/2Kg2fP2.jpg
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019 at 10:14 AM
  9. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Hi, Johnsey,

    Thank you for reminding me the links from Google Photos.

    THIS IS MY ORIGINAL POST and some minor changes:
    Camera : Canon Rebel T6s
    Lens : Canon EF-S18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
    Shooting Mode : Av f/5.6 1/641s ISO800 29mm
    File : IMG_0737.CR2 33.4MB
    This is one of the CR2 RAW files downloaded from the camera. The following images demonstrating the problem are of the same file, that is IMG_0737.CR2.

    1. I always download all CR2 RAW files to my PC, Windows 10 Home.
    2. RAW file is then converted to Jpeg. This the Jpeg image converted from IMG_0737.CR2. Nothing wrong visible.
    [​IMG]
    The next image which is not showing due to the bad link is the same image as above.
    [​IMG]
    3.DPP shows the exif data of IMG_0737.CR2. Does not show anything wrong either.
    Note: The size of the file, 33.4MB, a full RAW file.
    [​IMG]
    The next image which is not showing due to the bad link is the same image as above.
    [​IMG]
    4. But this is what happens when IMG_0737.CR2 is opened by Camera Raw in PS cc 2017.
    Tried to open several times and all showed the same result.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The image above this one which is not showing due to the bad link is the same image as this one showing here.

    This is one of the CR2 RAW files having similar problems.
    My questions:
    1. What happened to these CR2 RAW files?
    2. How to prevent the problem from happening again?

    Thank you!
    Ray
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019 at 10:57 PM
  10. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    A test for links from Google Photos to this Forum.
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  11. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    Google Photos does not allow you to cross link to forums/bulletin boards. There are alternatives:
    1. When you are creating your post use the Upload a File option and upload directly to your post. This is by far the easiest way and the one I use all the time.
    2. Get a free Flickr account and link from there using the BBCode option.
    3. If you want to display your Google Photos images then you can use this option:
      1. 1. Choose your Google Photos image and click on the Share icon.

        2. Click on Create Link and then click on Copy.

        3. Go to your https://ctrlq.org/google/photos/ in your browser

        4. Paste the copied link into the box that says “PASTE GOOGLE PHOTOS LINK HERE” and click on “GENERATE CODE”.

        5. When the code is generated it will then automatically scroll down

        6. Copy the link under “Direct Link (URL)”

        7. In your forum post, click on the “Insert Image” icon (mountains and sun) and paste the copied link.

        8. Click on “Preview Post” and your image should be there.


    I hope that helps.
    I also don't know why you are using PS CC 2017. That is way out of date. Why have you not updated to the current version. That may resolve your issues.
     
    Ray likes this.
  12. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
  13. GDN

    GDN Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2018
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    South Island, NZ
    Equipment:
    A little Canon stuff

    Just to add my two pence worth. You may want to watch your histogram as your image is a tad over exposed.

    Gary
     
    Ray and rayallen like this.
  14. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you very much, Rayallen.

    Very seldom for me to visit forums. And I am not familiar with the icons, buttons and operations. Your teachings about how to upload images is very helpful. Appreciate very much!

    "I also don't know why you are using PS CC 2017. That is way out of date. Why have you not updated to the current version."
    1. I used to use Photoshop CS6. In fact, I really have no need of such great editing software.
    2. Shifted to PS CC 2017 for one reason: Dehaze in Camera Raw.
    3. I do not edit my images much, dehaze, adjust exposures, colours, reduce camera shake, & convert RAW to Tiff & Jpeg. Basically, these do 90% of my editing work. After all, I am not very serious about photography.

    "That may resolve your issues."
    Well, it seems that you are saying that the issue is cause by editing software. Well, I thought this, too, when I first discovered the problem. Then, I had a second thought about this.
    DPP shows the complete exif data of IMG_0737.CR2, & a full size of a raw file 33.4MB , and the image without any part missing.
    [​IMG]
    Then, this IMG_0737.CR2 raw file is opened by Camera Raw in PS cc 2017, showing a incomplete image as this creenshot here.
    [​IMG]
    I thought when I saw this: A. The raw file was good. B. Something wrong with the editing software. Then, I saw this in DPP:
    [​IMG]
    This of another CR2 RAW file, IMG_0741.CR2, downloaded from Rebel T6s.
    It shows no image.
    and this:
    [​IMG]
    This screensho is of still another CR2 RAW file, IMG_0742.CR2, downloaded from Rebel T6s.
    It shows no image & exif data.
    But, there is something, 34.2MB of file size.

    This two raw files can not be opened by Camera Raw in PS CC 2017.

    Files of IMG_3741.CR2 and IMG_0742.CR2 have not been opened by any editing software. The screenshots are the original information of IMG_3741.CR2 and IMG_0742.CR2. I do not think they have anything to do with PS CC 2017 or any editing software.

    What I am saying here is that I am confused, not saying what causes the issue.

    Any advice is appreciated.
    Thank you!
    Ray
     
  15. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you, Gary.

    Than you for reminding me. The shots were taken in a national park while we were strolling through the park, just to take some shot for a record, not any serious photographing trip.

    Thank you anyway for your kind reminder.
    Ray
     
  16. johnsey

    johnsey Site Moderator Staff Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2017
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Fargo, ND
    Equipment:
    5dMk2, 20D, 70-200 2.8 L IS, 100mm 2.8 Macro USM, 50m 1.4, 85mm 1.8, 17-40mm 4.0 L, Rokinon 14mm 2.8; Pixma Pro-100
    When you say CC2017 do you mean you have not updated your creative cloud/connected to your account since 2017? I haven't subscribed to creative cloud yet as I have retail copies of older generations. But correct me if I am wrong CC stays updated regularly so it is some version of 2019, and you need to connect every 30 days or something to validate your licence.

    Does this affect all images or just a select few on the card? If you have only a couple each time on the card you probably have bad sectors on the card and should replace it.
     
    Ray likes this.
  17. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    Ray,
    I don't know where to start as this is quite confusing. Here are my thoughts:
    • If you are using PS CC (any version) you must have a Creative Cloud subscription and Creative Cloud should be telling you when updates are available. I keep my versions of PS and Lightroom updated regularly. Are you keeping up to date.
    • I thought your problem might be that your camera was very recent and the Camera Raw was maybe not able to read your CR2 files. But I doubt that is the case as your camera was produced in 2015.
    • If DPP was able to read the file then it seems like the images on the SD card might be OK. I have tried DPP and was not overly impressed with it as I can do my editing much more easily in PS CC.
    • The 33.4MB file size is a bit confusing as your camera produces 24.4MP files. I can't answer that one.
    • But then you are finding that DPP is not able to read the files and that is cause for concern. I am thinking that it might be a problem with the CD card. I would consider buying a new SD card from a reputable seller to ensure that you don't get a fake. Format it in the camera and see how you go.
    • I suggest that you download a free program called FastStone Image Viewer https://www.faststone.org/FSViewerDetail.htm as it will read almost any RAW file. If it can't read them then maybe there is a problem in your camera.
    I have never experienced a problem like this so I am really clutching at straws here. I hope that I have helped a little and that maybe others can also provide assistance.
     
    Ray likes this.
  18. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    Johnsey, the Creative Cloud apps/programs are not updated automatically. the Creative Cloud app tells you when updates are available and you choose when you want the update to take place. Some people update straight away while others adopt a wait-and-see approach. I have never had a problem with any updates. :D

    You really should give it a 30 day free trial. There are so many new features that your head will spin for a while. To get all the latest features and regular updates the subscription price is quite reasonable IMHO. I like to always have the latest software, your mileage may vary.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2019 at 7:20 PM
  19. Ray

    Ray New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Thank you again, Johnsey.

    About update PS CC.
    1. I'm not good at operating software, especially the complicated ones as PS.
    2. Any changes in the software will take me a long time to adapt.
    3. As long as the software does what I need, I'm usually reluctant to update.
    4. I'll take your good advice to update my PS since the problem gets to be very serious.

    But I do not thing the issue is caused by PS CC 2017. CR2 RAW files, downloaded from camera, not yet opened by Camera Raw in PS CC 2017, are appearing bad in DPP. For this reason, I do not think the issue has anything to do with PS. I could be totally wrong since I know nothing about how various software affect each other or one another in a computer.

    About bad sector on the card.
    1. I'll replace the memory card.
    2. The same card is still in use in the same camera and used almost every day, but has had no issue since the problem .
    Same or similar issue should happen if there is a bad
    "Are you keeping up to date."
    No. I'm not keeping my PS up to date. This is a fact but I don't PS causes the issue.

    "The 33.4MB file size is a bit confusing...."
    Here is a quote from a review of this camera.
    "File Quality
    At full 24.2MP resolution you can shoot in raw (approx. 30MB file size),"

    "I am thinking that it might be a problem with the CD card."
    1. Yes, I'll replace the memory card.
    2. But I really do not think the issue is introduced by memory card. After the episode, I purposely shoot a couple of dozens shots every day,using the same memory card, just to see if the issue might happen again. At least two thousand shots of CR2 RAW files have been viewed. No issue so far.

    "FastStone Image Viewer"
    Have just tried & found a red X replaced the image of CR2 RAW file which did not show in DPP.

    The issue is a complicated one. I do not think any answer is available in a short time. This is what I am going to do:
    Take a lot of shots everyday just to see if it will happen again. And I shall keep a record of the shooting and post processing procedures in hope to pin point the cause of the issue.

    Thank you.
    Ray
     
    rayallen likes this.
  20. rayallen

    rayallen Active Member Site Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Forresters Beach, Central Coast, NSW, Australia.
    Equipment:
    Canon 1Ds, Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 II, Canon EF 50mm f/1.8, Canon EF 75-300mm 1:4-5.6 III, Canon 20D, Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 II IS STM. Pentax K-3, Pentax K10D, and lots more Pentax gear.
    Hi Ray,
    • No, I don't think that your version of PS is causing the problem. It is just showing that there is a problem
    • It is your decision as to whether you keep up to date or not. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" is a viable option. I spent most of my working life in the computer industry so I like to have the latest software. That's what we always told our customers. :)
    • Re file size: OK, that sounds right.
    • Re memory card: If you have taken 2K shots since with no problem then I think the SD card must be OK. You probably do not need to replace it. But you can't have too many cards!!
    • Re FastStone: That confirms that there is definitely a problem with that image file.
    I am now of the opinion that it was a temporary glitch where the camera created a few corrupted files and that it has now recovered and is producing good files once more. Thus, we will probably never know what happened or why.
    Your plan to take shots daily and record how they turn out is a sound one and I look forward to hearing how it goes.
    Good luck and please keep us informed.
     
    Ray likes this.

Share This Page